One post at a time…

Well, my last post was 9 days ago. I had hoped to post more often, but the challenge for me is planning writing as part of my daily routine. I need to commit to scheduling the time because I can’t wait for work to be finished…I am never finished! There is always so much to do, but I keep repeating…somehow it all gets done.

Ok, so here’s the question for today’s post.

What do you love most about teaching?

I kind of fell into teaching. I had younger siblings and was a babysitter when I was a teenager. I taught swim lessons and coached synchronized swimming when I was in high school. I didn’t realize how much I loved teaching until I was in college. I thought I was going to be a doctor, but then I started a minor in education. I was hooked. I teach high school biology and I love getting to learn and share about so many different aspects of science. I am inspired by my students to design engaging, interesting, collaborative activities and assignments. I see myself as a lead learner/mentor more than as a “teacher”. I attend conferences, webinars, and Twitter chats to stay current as my curriculum continues to develop and progress as science learns more about the world around us. So, I guess what I love most about teaching is that I get to continue to learn with the hope of inspiring others to want to learn more about science.

Leave a Reply

